
  Twin Oaks Men’s Golf Club                                  April 2016 
 
Sound Board:  Due to our honored President’s knee surgery, there was no board meeting held last month.  
(That had to be one large operating room with all of those secret service guys in there, eh?)  The next board 
meeting will be held after golf on May 4th.  Remember to check the TOMGC website for more news and 
updates.    http://www.tomgc.org   
 

 
This Month’s Play: 
- Wednesday April 6th will be a posted/subsidized Spring Gala Mano a Mano match play event.  8 am shot gun 
  start.  Play will be from the Monument flags. 
- Saturday April 9th Scott McClellan will be hosting a flighted/subsidized/posted Nassau event.  First tee will be 
  10am. Play will be from the Monument flags.  
- Wednesday April 13th Jack will be inviting members to play in a Stableford non-subsidized event.  8am tee. 
- Wednesday April 20th we will test your friendships in a 2 man best ball event.  8am tee.   
- Wednesday April 27th we will close out the month with an exciting 4 ball scramble.  8am first tee.  
- Please keep in mind, that since the time change, all starts will now be at 8am unless announced otherwise.  
- All play is subject to change.  (Subject to the fickle whims of our Wednesday tournament director that is.) 
 

 
Did you know?  TOMGC will be adding an item to its list of local rules.  The 2016 Rules of Golf now stipulate 
that electronic distance measuring devices are only allowed during play if the committee has a local rule to 
that effect.  Only those devices which measure distance only are allowed.  The revised set of local rules will be 
issued to the membership when the edit has been approved by the TOMGC Board.   
In other news, our San Diego County Senior League Team was surprised in its match at Cottonwood on March 
4th by a score of 18-0.  Cottonwood had let their greens get so furry, that they were slower than my wife’s 
response to, “do you want to fool around?”  TOMGC players accustomed to our well groomed and manicured 
greens had trouble getting putts to the hole.   
In our initial meeting with Meadowlake Country Club, played at the Vineyard, our Twin Oaks team was able to 
muster only 6 points.  In our home match against Meadowlake, we fared much better, winning that contest 
10-8.   
Both the away and home matches have been played against Fallbrook.  The away match was contested at 
Castle Creek where we lost 10-8; the home match went our way with a win by the score of 12-6.   
Our next matches will be played against Morgan Run.         
 

 
Rules and Greens:  I would like to quickly discuss three separate items with regards to the rules which have 
come up just recently.  The first has to do with a ball which is straddling the out of bounds line, the second is 
with regards to what happens when a ball has been hit into a hazard, but no one knows for sure where it last 
crossed the margin of the hazard, and the last has to do with conduct on the greens and elsewhere during 

http://www.tomgc.org/


team play.  The first item, the ball which is straddling the Out of Bounds line, occurred during a Senior League 
match played at the Vineyard against Meadowlake.  During play of the 18th hole, one of our opponents had hit 
his drive down the left side of the fairway close to the Out of Bounds stakes.  Given the situation, the 
opponent elected to play a provisional ball, which is a good idea.  When we went down to investigate, we 
found the opponents’ ball had come to rest on the Out of Bounds line.  Part of the ball was still in bounds, and 
part of it was out of bounds.  So the question was, is the ball out of bounds and the provisional ball now in 
play, or is the ball considered in bounds and subject to play?  The easiest way to answer this question is by 
going to the definitions section of the Rules of Golf.  There is a lot of pertinent information in the definition 
that I would suggest that you read in its entirety, but for the sake of brevity, I will quote the most important 
item for our example: “A ball is out of bounds when all of it lies out of bounds.  A player may stand out of 
bounds to play a ball lying within bounds.”  
The second item was brought to my attention by Jack Cabral, who was a walking scorer at the recent Kia 
Classic.  He indicated that a player had hit her ball in the direction of a lateral water hazard, but the flight and 
landing of the ball was obstructed from view by a stand of trees.  When the player could not find her ball, she 
indicated to her playing partners that the ball must have hit a mounded area and gone into the hazard.  As 
such, she advised her fellow players that she was going to proceed under rule 26-1c.  Her playing partner did 
not object.  Given the wording of Rule 26-1, the player’s action appears to have been in conflict with the 
wording of that rule, which states in part: “…… In the absence of knowledge or virtual certainty that a ball 
struck toward a water hazard, but not found, is in the hazard, the player must proceed under Rule 27-1.”  
(Penalty of Stroke and Distance.) 
Our third and last item also occurred during recent Senior League match play, when it was mentioned to the 
playing opponents that it was a breach of the rules for one partner to stand behind the other partner while he 
was stroking his putt.  This brought on some discussion among all four players, to which all players, save one, 
agreed that while this might not be allowed during stroke play, it was certainly allowable during partner 
match-play competition.  A review of Rule 14-2b should put an end to any such notion.  Rule 14-2b reads: “A 
player must not make a stroke with his caddie, his partner or his partner’s caddie positioned on or close to an 
extension of the line of play or line of putt behind the ball.  The penalty for the breach of this rule is loss of 
hole in match play, and a two stroke penalty in stroke play.   
        
(Golf Rules Illustrated 2016) 


