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Ok, let’s end the Month with some review, eh?  I mean, a little refresher is always good, right?  

DROP ZONES:  We currently have three drop zones that are used during regular Wednesday 

and Saturday Men’s Club play as well as during Senior League Matches.  (By the way, if you are 

interested in joining our Senior League Team and getting a taste of match play at some of the 

other fine courses in San Diego County, give Jim Valenti a holler.)  While the drop zone on #3 is 

more for expediting play, the drop zones on #4 and #18 are used when we cannot be 

reasonably certain as to where our ball last crossed a hazard margin.  (Please refer to our local 

rules for more clarity.  The local rules are posted on the TOMGC Website.)   

#3:  If you hit a ball into the hazard anywhere on the third hole, you can move forward and 

drop a ball anywhere on the forward tee box and play it provisionally to the green.  If the first 

ball played is found, you must continue play with that ball.  If not, play the provisional ball, at 

the cost of an additional stroke.   

#4:  The drop zone on holes #4 and #18 are more specific areas, and are not always marked, so 

it takes a little figuring to know where to take your drop.  The drop zone on #4 is roughly a 10’ 

circle located 180 yards from the center of the green, just left of the right-side hazard, and to 

the right of the fairway.  Remember, the drop zone is for a ball which turns right after passing 

the corner of the hazard on #4 and then disappearing.  If your shot last crosses the hazard 

anywhere before that corner of the hazard, you would take the normal two club relief from 

that spot where it last crossed the margin, or re-tee, which is always an option.  You would be 

playing your third shot at that point, as you would if you were able to use the drop zone.   

#18:  The drop zone for #18 is, again, roughly a 10’ circle located just right of the hazard, at 

that point where the cartpath makes the right turn to run parallel to the fairway/hazard 

heading to the green.  Looking at the picture on our scorecard, it would be an area in the 

rough just short and to the left of that area where the fairway begins.  This drop zone is to be 

used when a ball crosses the area of the hazard directly in front of the tee boxes, and then 

makes that dreaded left turn toward the hazard.  When replaying a ball which does not cross 



the hazard in front of the tee boxes, it must be played from the tee box side of the hazard, or 

played again from the tee box. 

FREE DROP/PENALTY DROP:  Whenever you are allowed a free drop, say from a cartpath, the 

drop involves stance plus one club-length.  A drop which involves a penalty, say from a lateral 

hazard, involves two club-lengths.  In this case, the two club-lengths are measured from the 

margin of the hazard.  (Naturally there are other options available when taking relief from a 

hazard. Please refer to rule 26 for these options, as well as rule 20 for taking a proper drop 

and/or re-drop.) 

THE PROVISIONAL BALL:  Knowing the correct procedure for hitting a provisional ball is crucial, 

as it is a great time saver during play.  Please review Rule 27-2 so as to be familiar with how to 

play the provisional ball.  Simply put, here are some basics:   

• Maintain your hitting order.  If two persons are hitting a provisional ball, you would 

maintain the order in which you just hit.   

• You must announce that you are hitting a provisional ball.  At this time, you should 

advise the group as to what the first ball played was along with any distinguishable 

markings.  Then, provide a description of the provisional ball.  A provisional ball 

should not be numbered and/or marked the same as the original ball.  

• A provisional ball must be played before anyone looks for the original ball. 

• Should a second ball be played without following these procedures, it becomes the 

ball in play.  The previous stroke and penalty stroke are added to the final score. 

• If the original ball is found in an area in play, not out of bounds, the provisional ball is 

abandoned along with any strokes taken with the provisional ball.  However, if the 

provisional ball has been played from a spot closer to the hole than the original ball, 

the original ball is declared lost, and the provisional ball becomes the ball in play.  

The stroke with the original ball, plus a penalty stroke is added to the score made 

with the provisional ball.  (Stroke and distance.) 

When you read Rule 27-2 b, this last bullet seems to be somewhat ambiguous.  The Rule uses 

the term, “where the original ball is likely to be.”  Well, if I hit the provisional ball to the green 

from a spot closer to the hole than where I think the original ball was likely to have been, and 

then find my original ball as I am walking toward the green, have I just put the provisional ball 

in play or am I allowed to abandon the provisional ball and play my second stroke with the ball 

I’ve just found?  The “Decisions on the Rules of golf” for this year are silent on this matter, but 

here is the way I look at it.  If I find my original ball, that becomes the spot where it is likely to 

be, because that’s where it is!  As such, I am counting two strokes to the green and 

abandoning the provisional ball and the two additional strokes I’ve been penalized with. 

Thank you for your time.  I hope this helps.  Comments, please let me know.            


